Who’s Teaching This Class, Anyway?

Monday Sept 12th was a brand new day.

It was certainly new for me, as it was my first regularly scheduled working Monday since I began teaching yoga. I taught at 5:30am, 9:15am, and again at 12:30pm. I taught at the usual studios, and looked out at familiar faces, as well as some new ones.  And yet, I felt something I hadn’t felt in a long time–the confusion of not knowing what I was walking in to.

At the first public group class at 9:15, I felt the students’ disappointment upon realizing their regular teacher is no longer teaching in that time slot. My old familiar monologue popped up: “Are people enjoying this at all?”, “Will they ever come back?” 

I gave my standard issue performance. I included everything that I can’t NOT bring into the room–my voice, my analogies, my personality. I wondered how the instruction would be received. Luckily, I got my answer mid-class, while demonstrating a complicated pose. When I looked up I saw 15 smiling faces, nodding their heads in recognition. I’d won them over!

We’ll get to know eachother, these students and me. This week, they’re just moving bodies as I instruct and adjust. But soon, they will become well rounded people that I adore.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Inside the Yoga Studio, Inside Your Career, Inside Your City, Inside Your Friendships

One response to “Who’s Teaching This Class, Anyway?

  1. Gayle

    Those students don’t know how lucky they are! They’ll catch on soon enough 🙂

Leave a Reply

