Slow The F#@k Down!

I’m always rushing. I rush to the train, rush home to take a nap, and rush in to the yoga studio, all out of breath and sweaty to finally fit in a class that day. Rush, rush, rush.  Hell, I’m a yoga teacher. What’s wrong with this picture?!

Maybe it’s because I’m a New Yorker. Maybe it’s because I only have one day off per week. I’m used to moving, floating on momentum, and getting to the next moment.

But I’m trying to be slower. I know from past experiences (few, but memorable) that the slower I move, the more I accomplish.  I take deep breaths and time seems to slow down.  There’s more in every moment, and life unfolds in abundance.

This is what I try to remember when I am carrying heavy bags filled with books, two changes of clothes, and a water bottle. This is what I try to remember when the G train passes me by as I walk down the subway stairs. Another one will come…just a short 20 minutes from now.

The most ridiculous part is that I know that more of everything is coming. More trains, more dinner dates, more movies, more yoga classes, more articles to squint at on my smartphone. More overwhelming love is coming. More opportunities and discoveries. It’s all coming down the pike.

Leave a comment

Filed under Inside the Yoga Studio, Inside Your Career, Inside Your City

Leave a Reply

